Disorganized Religion

This post is a response to the article: khanism.org/blog/the-non-theists-wager
I posted a comment there but the blog input method is severely flawed and corrupted the perfection of my response. I am rewriting my response here because I fully control the input environment and can see to its proper publication.

Most religions are illogical, irrational and disorganized. There is good reason for religion’s dysfunction, they’ve been written, rewritten and interpreted by people wishing to use them for personal gain. Aside from having no visible effect, religion also brings out the best or worst in people. The “words of God” are chaotically interpreted and twisted for psychological satisfaction; the stroking of the ego. In no way am I a proponent of eradicating religion. People may think whatever they wish as long as they remain logical and follow the golden rule. Don’t stick your religion in their face or blow them up with a bomb you strapped to your abdomen. Leave it to a mathematician to figure out the most positive philosophy.

I didn’t know something like Pascal’s wager had been established. For a brief moment I had anticipated this article being something spawned from a Star Trek film because of the word “khanism” in the address bar. I was relieved upon learning it was far more interesting.

A while ago, I had the same logical revelation as Pascal and Aurelius. To fear a God (possible misnomer) isn’t a positive quality, but to live a good life regardless of one is. When I was about thirty years old, I had logically deduced that which Marcus Aurelius had so clearly stated earlier:

“Live a good life. If there are Gods and they are just, then they will not care how devout you have been, but will welcome you based on the virtues you have lived by. If there are Gods, but unjust, then you should not want to worship them. If there are no Gods, then you will be gone, but will have lived a noble life that will live on in the memories of your loved ones.”

Thanks to sumdog for posting The Non-theists Wager, and to my friend for bringing it to my attention. I feel more defined now.

-Jeremy Edward Dion

Leave a comment