Grainger Smokestacks of Conway

DMG Smokestacks Sunflare

Sunday February 7, 2016

It’s Super Bowl Sunday, and also the day of the demolition of a historic landmark. I awoke this morning to a thunderous explosion followed by a significant earth tremor. I was soon informed it was the destruction of the smokestacks of the late Dolphus M. Grainger Power Station, just over one kilometer away. I was startled by the explosion but quickly recovered. A lingering emotion was regret that I missed witnessing the demolition. I would have made an effort to wake by 6:30 AM and been at Lake Busbee by 7, standing in the cold rain with an umbrella, if I had known about it. I regretted missing the irreplaceable experience of witnessing the razing of a fifty year old local historic landmark of a town which I’ve lived for fifteen years. I regretted this for about two hours until I rationalized the misfortune and learned something important.

I accepted that I was responsible for missing an event that greatly interested me. I had been so preoccupied with work and play that I missed a major unrecoverable planned event of deep interest, occurring just a kilometer from my residence. The crashing boom that startled me from sleep was a literal wake-up call to my senses. It forced me to realize that I want to be thoroughly informed to the local affairs of the city that affects me. I began to regret less missing the demolition. I started to appreciate the omission of the foreknowledge of the event because I had learned something paramount. I became inspired and motivated to read about the power plant and write what I had learned. More importantly, I was happy I learned of myself a characteristic that I might otherwise not have discovered for much longer. I decided to embrace and own the lost opportunity. If I had been told of the destruction, I would have made a short schedule adjustment and gone to watch. Most likely I would have taken that information for granted and not have realized my deficiency. It’s of course simple to say and accept “we’re responsible for what we learn”, but it’s far more impressive a lesson to miss a grand event that affects us.

I’m going to start reading local newspapers and follow local politics. I want to know about the developments that occur around me. I can’t expect to effect desired changes if I’m ignorant of my environment. I think it’s crucial to take responsibility over our individual education. I can’t presume this is a rare epiphany unrealized by most, but I feel it’s important to share that it took me 37 years to realize I’ve been failing myself by treading water without air in my lungs. Perhaps with my head above water I can get a clear picture of where I’m at, then I’ll start to swim toward beneficial goals.

– Jeremy Edward Dion

Rubble and SmokestacksSmokestack TopsSmokestacks and Clouds

Cool demolition video:
http://www.myrtlebeachonline.com/news/local/article58981203.html

All photographs from:
http://www.myrtlebeachonline.com/news/local/article58791323.html

Relevant articles:
http://www.sciway.net/sc-photos/horry-county/lake-busbee.html
http://wpde.com/news/local/dismantling-of-grainger-power-plant-underway
http://www.thestate.com/news/business/article20715948.html
http://www.myrtlebeachonline.com/news/local/article58791433.html

Leave a Reply

