Venus Transit

Today I watched Venus transit across our solar disc. It was beautiful. I watched it on a NASA web stream. I had been anticipating this day for a while. Astronomy is something that interests me and I’m happy I was able to catch a glimpse of Venus with my own eyes. It was cloudy earlier in the day but it cleared up by the time of first contact when Venus began voyaging across the sun. Very briefly I viewed the Venus transit with a pinhole projector I manufactured out of two toilet paper rolls, tin foil and wax paper. It was awesome. After some trial and error, I was able to enhance the image and see a super tiny black dot. I may never be able to see Venus again in this fashion, as her next transit is in 2117.

I will write more on this when Venus completes her transit shortly.

I watched her come and I watched her go. She brought with her a century of knowledge I would have never known. I am thankful to witness the goddess on the go as a small speck on the face of Sol.

-Jeremy Edward Dion

Leave a Reply

